Facebook Login now requires apps to ask permission before posting to your timeline. Facebook Login now requires apps to ask permission before posting to your timeline.

A new update to Facebook Login today does something the social network should have done long ago. It now requires mobile applications that use Facebook Login to ask for your permission before they post to your Timeline. (Facebook Login is the feature that lets you use applications and other Web services just by logging in with your Facebook credentials.)

Now users who prefer not to share the details of their workout or game achievements with friends can skip sharing. This update lets you to use Facebook Login to quickly register for apps, but eliminates the auto-sharing many users found really, really annoying.