Articles tagged "History"

Fri, 16 November 2012
Thu, 18 October 2012
Mon, 28 May 2012
The Tech CEO Hall of Shame

The Tech CEO Hall of Shame

In the grand pantheon of disgraced technology company CEOs, the resume blunder of ousted Yahoo Chief Executive Scott Thompson seems almost…

Section: Enterprise Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Tue, 8 May 2012
Tue, 3 April 2012
Windows 8: The OS/2 of Today

Windows 8: The OS/2 of Today

After watching Microsoft lurch toward completion of Windows 8 and trying out a few of its early versions, I am struck by a tremendous…

Section: Web Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Wed, 9 November 2011
Mapping the Republic of Letters

Mapping the Republic of Letters

All throughout human history technical breakthroughs have altered the topography of human thought. Or, rather, human thought has had a freer…

Section: Social Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Sat, 5 November 2011
Mon, 26 September 2011
Asking the Cloud Doctor

Asking the Cloud Doctor

In a sign that healthcare is moving to the mobile, a company called HealthTap is launching an app that offers a Quora-like experience from…

Section: Web Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Thu, 22 September 2011
Wed, 14 September 2011
Wed, 7 September 2011
9/11 Testimonies & Archives

9/11 Testimonies & Archives

As the 10 year anniversary of the terrorist attack that brought down New York's World Trade Center approaches, there are many…

Section: Web Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Fri, 19 August 2011
Wed, 29 June 2011
Mon, 20 June 2011
Google Partners with British Library

Google Partners with British Library

One of my favorite places on earth, the British Library, and the world's most popular search engine, Google, have struck a spectacular deal…

Section: Web Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Thu, 16 June 2011
WW1 in Everday Objects & Online

WW1 in Everday Objects & Online

The European project, "First World War in everyday documents" has combined real people and the physical artifacts they've inherited with the…

Section: Web Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Wed, 8 June 2011
Kings & Queens: History Through Apps

Kings & Queens: History Through Apps

How do you visualize your thoughts? Are your dreams more like a sit-com or a documentary? English historian David Starkey thinks his…

Section: Web Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0
Wed, 1 June 2011
Historical DC Comes Alive Online

Historical DC Comes Alive Online

How do the Web, imaging, computer graphics and other technologies of the imagination change our understanding of, and even the images we…

Section: Web Author: Publish date: Interaction count: 0