How To Prevent People From Tagging You In Twitter Photos

You can now tag people in photos on Twitter and add up to four photos in one tweet. But thankfully for the privacy-conscious, you can determine who, if anyone, can tag you.

The new feature lets anyone tag you by default, but Twitter provides three photo-tagging privacy options: Anyone; Only people you follow; or No one.

To change your settings:

  1. Click on the gear icon on the top right of Twitter.com
  2. Select “Settings”
  3. Select “Privacy and Security”
  4. Under “Privacy” you can choose to restrict your photo tagging settings

Twitter’s new photo-tagging feature is an interesting move for the social network that has made a hobby of copying features from Facebook, especially now that it’s a publicly-traded company subject to scrutiny from investors on a regular basis.

On Facebook, tagging photos usually only happens among connected friends, and tags can be approved or denied by the person who’s been tagged. On Twitter, tagging photos is bound to cause more interaction between followers that aren’t naturally friends in real life, but solely know each other from 140-character outbursts.

We expect Twitter will monitor the rollout of this photo-tagging feature to ensure it’s not being abused by trolls. Still, Twitter provides plenty of ways to deal with unwanted communications on the network; not-so-coincidentally, so does Facebook.

Tagging photos on Twitter is available on iOS, and is coming soon to Android and Twitter.com.

Image via Twitter

Facebook Comments

New

Rising

Popular